Do not be satisfied with the stories that are told to you. Unfold your own myth – Rumi.

Bottles of Moonshine – A short story’s story

Masinagudi - Thanashyam Raj
I have a new short story up on Medium.

It’s called Bottles of Moonshine, and you can read it here.

It’s the first of a new series of stories I’m going to write over at Medium, just to see what the platform can offer. I’m not ditching WordPress; this is where I first started writing, and I hope to complement both of them in some way. Perhaps I could actually use this blog more as an actual blog than as the place where I put out my finished work. I could think here. Maybe. But wherever this leads, I’ll keep you posted.

As for this story, I first came up with a draft of this after a visit to a village called Pavumba in the Kayamkulam district of Kerala, where a close friend’s family is from. Most of these characters are real, as flesh and bone as you and I are, but their actions are wholly imaginary. The biggest struggle I had with this story was how to end it. I needed an emotional attachment, something that wanted to keep Manikuttan here, and I wanted to nest that in a setting of loneliness and nostalgia. Kerala is famous for sending its sons and daughters abroad, but I wanted to explore what the sons felt when the time came for them to go. It’s a deeply felt story, as much about the place in which it is set as it is about the people that inhabit it.

I hope you like it, and do comment, here or on there. Your words are the solitary writer’s only encouragement.

5 responses

  1. Raj Kumar

    Fine writing

    May 10, 2015 at 9:33 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks man!

      May 19, 2015 at 8:39 am

      • Raj Kumar

        Welcome to my blog

        May 19, 2015 at 8:43 am

  2. I love it and can’t wait to read more! I’ve always enjoyed your writing. It has a certain calm attached to it that always evades me when I try!

    May 13, 2015 at 7:49 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Aw. Thank you, Zarine!

      May 19, 2015 at 8:39 am

Leave a comment