Do not be satisfied with the stories that are told to you. Unfold your own myth – Rumi.

The View from the 7th Floor…

My MacBook has this app called the Noisy Typer. I found it on my random traipses through the net a few weeks ago, and immediately fell in love with it.

It does a very simple thing really – it simulates the sounds that typewriters used to make as I type, and my laptop becomes, for some time at least, an old clacking, wheezing typewriter.

I can’t have it running all the time though. My office on the seventh floor of SP Infocity on the OMR here in Chennai is too busy on weekdays to handle such irritants. So here I’m on a Sunday, typing away, as a cloudy Chennai evening draws itself to a close.

Its a big IT park, SP Infocity, it might even be called huge, if I didn’t know that the TCS buildings at the far end of this same road are much much bigger. This is a hustling, bustling scene on weekdays, with people rushing in and out, grabbing quick bites in the food court, talking office politics and relationships and plans for the future.

Today, though, it wears a deserted look, not unlike a storm ravaged village. The silence seems like a farce and the almost oppressive quietness make the tinted glass seem tired and forlorn. The lawns seem lonely, the switched-off fountain sad, and the laughing, Bhojpuri song-playing guards are withdrawn and thoughtful.

You know how they say homes and buildings reflect the people that inhabit them. SP only confirms that adage.

On weekdays, when there’s work to do, the handsome skyscraper gives you a semblance of purpose, of haste, of responsibility, of things to think about and get done.

When it is left alone on weekends, on the other hand, it doesn’t know what to do with itself.

Actually, I don’t think there’s a better metaphor for the way I feel these days, and I know a lot of my friends who feel the same way.

Today, for the first time in my life, I have more books than I have time to read, more dreams than I have time to indulge in and more options than I have time to weigh.

I have a guitar, but I don’t know which song to play.

I knew that the 20s would be a difficult time, but I never knew that the questions I would have to answer wouldn’t be from without, they would be from within.

Questions. Of identity and desires. But most of all, of belonging.

That is why the view from the seventh floor of my office building on a weekend looks so bleak. The building is looking for meaning, as are the young people who’ll invade it tomorrow.

And that is why my generation goes back to things which bring back some comfort, like my Noisy Typer.

As for me, I don’t know where to go. Hello, quarter life crisis.

15 responses

  1. Veena

    Nice… 🙂

    August 6, 2012 at 11:19 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Nandri hai da Veena.. 🙂

      August 7, 2012 at 10:39 am

  2. Nice article…poignant! except for this sentence ‘….grabbing quick bites in the food court’. A cliche that could very well be avoided…

    August 7, 2012 at 9:11 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks Shriiram. And point duly noted.. 🙂

      August 7, 2012 at 10:38 am

  3. smita

    nice one:) bt i felt the article was incomplete….i expected something more at the end, dont know if i am the only one who felt so! :/

    August 8, 2012 at 5:42 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      That was exactly what I wanted to convey Smita.. Incompletion.. Even I expect more in the end.. 🙂

      August 8, 2012 at 11:47 am

  4. Yogitha

    You have a macbook??? 😛

    August 11, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Of all the things I wrote Yo, all you could see was THAT! Yes, I do. Office la kuduthaanga.. Avlo kaasu elaam illa enkitta..

      August 11, 2012 at 8:10 pm

      • Yogitha

        Thats me! expect the unexpected .. buahaha!! 😛 Plus.. You should come to DLF.. You will feel even more like ‘cattle in a shed’ 😛

        August 13, 2012 at 10:42 am

  5. Harish

    Nice One Bro…

    August 11, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks Bro…

      August 13, 2012 at 10:32 am

  6. I was waiting for a punchline too! Nice post, chotu. As someone who actually used a manual typewriter for college assignments because PCs hadn’t been invented yet (yes there are still some of us walking the earth) I have to say that more annoying than the noise was the skin tears at the base of the nails every time the fingers slipped in between the keys rather than hitting the sweet spot. How’s that for a random punchline? Lol. Keep them coming 🙂

    August 12, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Ha. I never knew that typewriters has such a problem.. Thanks a lot Ma’am… 🙂

      August 13, 2012 at 10:33 am

  7. Shree Raam Raghavan

    i loved the way u used “I have a guitar, but I don’t know which song to play”
    awesome bro!

    December 3, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Jino.. 🙂

      December 3, 2012 at 1:00 pm

Leave a Reply

