Do not be satisfied with the stories that are told to you. Unfold your own myth – Rumi.

Thank you Daddy…

Dear Daddy,

I wish I was home in Pondicherry, so I could be with you & Mom & Sahaana, but seeing as I’ve finished my days at University & got myself a job, I have to work now, and so Hyderabad it is, for now.

I have never even wished you on Father’s day before. I don’t remember having done so at all. I don’t think you ever expected me to. Because that’s the kind of person you are. You just gave me & Sahaana everything that we could ever want. And of course Mom too. We are blessed, all of us. Thank you Daddy.

When I was 5, you bought me books that cost half of your salary. Just because your son said he wanted to read. We sometimes had no money at all, but you would still buy me Gokulam & Chandamama, so I wouldn’t feel bad. We may have come a long way from those days, Daddy, when we used to live in a single room in Jamnagar, but I will not forget what you and Mom did for me. Thank you Daddy.

When I was 10, Mom had this severe typhoid attack, and we were all still in Gujarat, with the rest of our family over here in Pondicherry. I remember how you took care of her, of us kids, & still found time to read “The Mahabharata” at night for us. I remember when Mom was better & you took us all on a tour to Rajasthan. I remember holding your hand at eating Ice Cream on Mount Abu, thinking how much I loved you. Thank you Daddy.

When I was 15 and we all came back to Pondicherry, I knew it was because of me, because you wanted your son & daughter to grow up in the town where you were born. You had to take a major career transition. You had to write exams, study for them, with your son, as I prepared for my 10th boards as well. You had a great career, a content life, but you chose to drop all that, come back and struggle, all for us. It was so difficult. You made it through that too. But then, I always knew you would. You are my hero. Thank you Daddy.

I never fulfilled what you expected of me. I fell apart, neglected my studies, got into so much trouble, broke yours and Mom’s heart at one point of time, but you still believed in me. When I was suspended from engineering college for hitting a HOD, you still didn’t even scold me. I had 12 papers in backlogs at that point, but you said nothing. You were breaking inside, the boy for whom you had given half your life was turning into something else. But you still believed in me. It is that unflinching belief that is the reason for my being someone today. Thank you Daddy.

When I got admission to B School, and the time came to pay the huge fees, Mom had second thoughts. She was afraid I would do what I did in engineering. But you, you believed in me. You sent me to University. But this time it was different. I did what I went there to do. I finished my masters, I came out with a job, and here I’m, two months into it. Last week, I sent my first salary home, not that you need it, but because I want to. You have given me everything that I have asked for, and so many things I didn’t even ask. You’re the greatest in the world. Thank you Daddy.

I’m 23 today, and I wanted to tell you how much you mean to me. I can’t put it into words, Daddy. I wanted to be a good son, I have failed a lot of times, but I want you to know that I tried.

I want you to know that I’m proud. Of a decorated Indian Air Force officer, who defended our country, fought for it, and bled for it. Of a soldier who served our nation, on the heights of Kashmir, on the mountains of Shillong, in the deserts of Rajasthan and even fought for peace on the Sri Lankan plains. I’m proud of the man who taught me honesty, integrity, discipline and love. Without you, these would have been mere words, Daddy. I’m proud of the person that you’re.

I’m proud that I’m your son.

Thanks, Daddy, for everything.

10 responses

  1. LOVE it Sai! One of the best so far…..so touching….i’m sure your dad’s as proud to be your father as you are to be his son 🙂 Cheers!

    June 19, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks so much Monicaa.. :)…

      June 19, 2011 at 12:38 pm

  2. Reena86

    Ok.seriously.I’m on tears.everything that u wrote is reflecting me.I never wish my dad before and I know that he never expect me to do so.My dad was in the Forces’ too.an we had our fair share of difficulties and hardships.but we manage to overcome.I’m really touched and I wsh all the best for u.I mean u’l be a dad soon and I can see tht u’ll be a good father as ur father is to u 🙂 proud to have u as my friend 🙂

    June 19, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks Loads Reena.. 🙂

      June 19, 2011 at 1:53 pm

  3. Harish...

    Wow Sai… An Awesome Post… Really Ur Dad Will Be Proud Of U… And I Am Too Proud To Have U As My Friend… Keep It Up Bro….

    June 19, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks Bro.. 🙂

      June 19, 2011 at 1:53 pm

  4. Suchithra S

    the best father’s day gift to your father…so touching…. the best work of yours i have read so far….. good work da and ur father will be very proud….

    June 19, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks a lot Suchi… 🙂

      June 19, 2011 at 2:05 pm

  5. smita

    touching indeed sai!! sometimes life really is harsh on us and we dont get the opportunity to say what we have always wanted to. even i m proud of my dad and though i hated him sometimes, i still love him n will always do wherevr he is. lov u dad.

    June 25, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      :).. Thanks Yaar..!!

      June 28, 2011 at 11:09 am

Leave a Reply

