Do not be satisfied with the stories that are told to you. Unfold your own myth – Rumi.

The Small things in Life

It’s an ongoing journey, this life. Like that train ride with Venu from Coimbatore to Salem two days ago, except this one just keeps going on and on. That’s the lovely thing about it, that you don’t know what’s gonna come. It might be the best thing to ever happen to you, or your whole life might come down on your head. That’s what makes existence the joy it is.

But then, lately I’ve been thinking about how many people forget the boon that they’ve been given, the time they’ve been bestowed with. I mean, life should not be measured with what you’ve achieved, what you have or by what position you hold or might hold. In fact, life cannot be measured at all. There is no such yardstick. So, who’s successful and who’s not? Well, I don’t know. I’m too young and naive to figure that out. I only know how I measure my life by.

I don’t. Actually, I don’t even try. I see it as moments. Moments which are so important that you could do anything to make them happen. Moments which take your breath away. The laughter, the tears, the smiles, the smirks, the scowls and everything in between. The small things in life.

The train journey that day. A Pepsi and two friends. That’s a moment. Coming back home after a month and a half and Mom exclaiming that I’d become thinner and pushing a glass of milk in my hand. That’s another. Dad showing me around the renovation work that’s on in our house. It is times like these that we live for. At least I do.

A Sunday morning cricket match, a moonlit walk with the person you love, a movie with the friends you’ve known since you were kids, the same old joke you’ve been laughing at for years, the things you know about each other, these are what defines us. Happiness in the little things is what we should cherish. When the teacher who has taught you for two years tells your dad you were a good student on Rank Card day, you always remember. This is the same teacher whom you’ve ridiculed, laughed at and whose bald head you’ve made fun of the whole year. But when he says that, you always remember. A teacher’s words mean a lot, don’t they? That’s a moment too.

There are so many things that we do that have no apparent meaning. I always send a message to a friend of mine whenever I have moments like these. Sometimes she doesn’t reply. But I know she listens and that she cares. Sometimes she replies, and I grin ear to ear. It’s just a simple message. Why does it make me so happy? I have no idea whatsoever. We barely talk but we share this strange kind of relationship, sometimes very close, sometimes as cold as ice. That’s life for you. Strange and at the same time, sweet.

These are things that we live through every day, but don’t take much notice of. I’m only afraid that we might forget them altogether in the race we think we have to win, this sometimes comical farce we call life, this nonstop fight for money and fame. These are important too, of course they are, but not at the cost of the simple joys that God has given us.

Mom has been sitting and watching me on my laptop for some time. “Enna da panra?” What are you doing. I say “En Girlfriend kitta pesuren “ I’m talking to my girlfriend. My mom rushes to look, finds a word document and gives me a painful rap on the head “Serupu Pinjidum” (Translation Censored..!!) One of life’s best.

18 responses

  1. Venugopal

    super machi… last paragraph is best 😀 😀 😀

    September 26, 2010 at 8:01 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      :-)… Thanks da…

      September 26, 2010 at 8:36 am

  2. shanthi

    simplyy beauutiful….!!!

    September 26, 2010 at 8:17 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank u Shanthi… 🙂

      September 26, 2010 at 8:36 am

  3. Aparna Vijayan

    Beautiful da…..

    September 26, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks da… 🙂

      September 27, 2010 at 1:23 am

  4. Sathappan

    Machi. This http://goo.gl/Td0S is for you da !

    September 26, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Hey…!!! Thank u so much da…. 🙂

      September 27, 2010 at 1:24 am

  5. Harish

    Awesome Bro… I really loved the moment i read this post… This is life… Good One … Enjoy…

    September 27, 2010 at 1:36 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks again Bro… 🙂

      September 27, 2010 at 6:27 am

  6. Wow… wonderful… Really made me to ‘think’…

    September 27, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks Jaya… :).. That’s the whole point, isn’t it.. 🙂

      September 28, 2010 at 1:17 am

  7. Mahalakshmi

    Your making me jealous!! AWESOME… huh.. still does not say it all though in CAPS.. I m opening Dictionary.com.. I wanna find a better different word.. I m bored commenting the same AWESOME!!

    October 10, 2010 at 6:55 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Lol…. Thank u Maha… 🙂

      October 10, 2010 at 10:21 am

  8. Reena86

    I love ur post ! Seriously ! Moments like this are supposed to be remembered and I’m glad u have immortalized the memory in a blog.Bravo 🙂

    June 10, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks a lot Reena..!! 🙂

      June 10, 2011 at 8:49 pm

  9. Viji

    I dont feel jealous anna instead i feel proud and its absolutely AWESOME.i am finding words to comment anna WONDERFUL.

    June 10, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks a lot..!! 🙂

      June 11, 2011 at 12:38 pm

Leave a Reply

