Do not be satisfied with the stories that are told to you. Unfold your own myth – Rumi.

Exams… Again!!

It’s Exam Week again. International Business and Consumer Behaviour today, followed by Ethics and Strategy later. Not that I’m going to sit in my room all day long, long faced and with a huge book in hand. It’s been ages since I have studied like that. Sometimes, when conscience pricks me (it does!!), I take the oath to study like I used to, only to see it being broken by the simplest of sounds, the bouncing of a cricket ball. I’m long past the stage when marks and grades used to drive me. But it would be fun to look back a bit.

School. Petit Seminaire Pondicherry. The typical century old male only educational institution. There was no female presence on the 150+ year old campus, except maybe the nurse, but even she was swapped for a male one later. I used to study like crazy. I contented for top ranks and woke up as early as 2 to study. I enjoyed it immensely, and had an awesome time studying. Exams excited me and I gave them everything. I remember hating the early morning Tamil devotionals they used to play loudly at a temple near home during half yearly exams. I studied on the terrace and it disturbed my loud renditions of The Battle of Plassey and Coleridge’s Rime of the Ancient Mariner. I suppose it coincided with some holy month or something. Gotta ask Mom.

High School. I was enrolled in a million coaching classes and I made a humungous waste of all the money Dad invested in them. I still studied, but I thought of it as a necessary evil, something to be balanced between cricket and AXN’s World’s most Amazing Videos. My grades went down like Satyam’s stock price and by the end of it, even my friends were worried that I would end up being the lowest of our group. But I rallied in the last three months, giving the Tamil Nadu Board a good fight. My 2 am timings still worked, I found out and I switched to power study mode. About 90 days of deprivation and I had 89.9% to show for it. I was happy enough, but Dad and Mom weren’t, they expected much more and promptly applied embargoes – my week’s petrol budget was cut and pocket money was not slashed, it was abolished! All through the three months leading up to start of college, when there was absolutely nothing to do, I was invariably bankrupt.

Engineering. I ran rabid. My worst academic performances followed the renting of a flat by me and my friends in second year. All of us, excluding one, failed in at least one paper following that. I was worst affected, having more backlogs that anyone else. But it neither affected nor dampened our spirits. Exams meant all of us sitting in a room with our books open, joking around, laughing our eyes out and then exclaiming at 10 pm that not even one unit is over. Exams also meant the Tea Shop Meet at midnight, in the only tea shop that would be open at that time – the one near the main Bus Stand. The owner ran brilliant business during exams, at times there would be 50+ students coming to his shop in the dead of night. We compared jokes as to how less us or the others had studied, how we were going to employ alternative methods the next day, or the certainty of the whole lot failing. It was awesome; you had to be there to feel the atmosphere. As I still tell my friends, it was a minor miracle that we ever passed our engineering.

And now here I am. MBA 4th Trimester Exams. I’ll write about my Masters once I’m done with it.

Right now, it’s Exam Time !!!

14 responses

  1. Rajesh

    really gud da..!! keep going..!! we cant forget those pleasant days..!!

    August 9, 2010 at 2:52 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks Bro…. 🙂

      August 9, 2010 at 11:39 am

  2. Venugopal

    Super da… I remember my school days… I Once lost my 1st rank just by 1 mark. I cried that day… But now i get 40/100 marks in Class tests.. what a change in life… Marks r the least for me now… If i can learn something out of the class, i will be much more happy

    August 9, 2010 at 5:11 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      But do you???.. Thts the Question… 🙂

      August 9, 2010 at 11:41 am

  3. vishal

    nice… sai

    August 9, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks yaar…. 🙂

      August 9, 2010 at 3:51 pm

  4. Harish

    Good one…. Marks doesn’t matter any more… wat u do matters… Do Wonders Bro that is going to last long not the first rank u got in the class…

    August 10, 2010 at 10:50 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      :)…. Thanks Harish….

      August 11, 2010 at 2:58 am

  5. amit anand

    Hi Sai,
    You took me too to my school and college days. Exams are so exciting !

    August 12, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      They are fun true Amit ji… But excitin… 😀
      Onlu u can use that word in conjunction with exams… 🙂

      August 13, 2010 at 3:20 am

  6. Aditi

    Very true….u made me feel nostalgic!!its gud tht u don’t consider marks to be of much importance nw…am still waiting for such a miracle to happen to me!!:D

    August 23, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks again Adi…. And I’m sorry… I don’t think u’ll ever reach that point of enlightenment when u stop carin about marks… As Udhayakumar Sir says, it’s only for great souls…. 😛

      August 25, 2010 at 3:29 am

  7. smita

    same here, reminds me of my school n college days.i am not one of those who study but one of those who still crib abt marks 😉

    August 27, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Ha Ha… Leave it Smita… To crib about, we first need marks right… 40 se zyaada aate hi nahin hai yaar… 🙂

      August 27, 2010 at 5:05 pm

Leave a Reply

