Do not be satisfied with the stories that are told to you. Unfold your own myth – Rumi.

Love Stories…

It was raining hard that Sunday evening as I got on to the bus to Villupuram from Pondicherry. I had screwed up. Yet again. Dad had warned me that not booking the ticket to Coimbatore early would land me in a terrible soup. And, as my Dad is right almost all the time, it did. I did not get any direct bus to Coimbatore and had to resort to route buses to get to university on time. Also, the route, that is, Pondicherry-Villupuram-Salem-Coimbatore was so crowded, that I barely had space to stand, let alone sit. But, duty beckoned! I would not be absent on the first day of semester, I had decided.

I had just boarded the bus to Villupuram as this fellow shouted at me for stamping his leg . I apologised profusely, for as my Weinbrenners are quite heavy themselves, and my 72 kilo frame doesn’t make them any lighter. He was furious and voiced his displeasure at me and the pouring rain outside in a flurry of Tamil expletives. I tried smiling but it only made him angrier. He was heavily built, with long hair, and looked as though he hadn’t shaved for a decade and a half. The blasted conductor, oblivious of my predicament, kept pushing people into the bus such that I was face to face with my friend, who looked ready to kill me with his bare hands. His phone rang. He spoke into it briefly and his whole demeanour changed. I had gathered that his wife had just given birth to a child. I asked him whether it was a boy or a girl. He proudly said “Mahalakshmi Porandhiruka Thambi”(Goddess Lakshmi has come to my house as my daughter). I learnt he was a labourer and that he was rushing to meet his wife who was at the Government Hospital in Villupuram. He had met his wife at a relative’s house warming ceremony and that they had fallen in love. Her parents had opposed him at first, but seeing that nothing could be done as the girl refused to marry anyone but him, they relented. All this time he kept bending down to touch his knees. At long last, he got a place to sit, and I looked at his knees for the first time. I was horrified. They were bloody and red, with the blood wet and fresh. I asked him what had happened. He smiled at my expression of shock. He had walked to the Vinayaka temple on Pondicherry beach from his house, on his knees, praying that his wife should suffer no pain. He told me “Vali thaanga maata thambi” (She can’t bear pain, brother).
Love, Strike one.

The next bus to Salem was equally full of people. I stood up against the closed back door of the bus and looked up at the night sky. The moon looked beautiful. The air had the smell of rain and I loved it. I was sleepy soon and I found myself walking into the bus. No place to sit, but at least I wouldn’t fall overboard. A water bottle dropped from the seat nearest to me. I took it and looked at the elderly couple sitting there. He was trying to give her an injection and the bus’s movement was making it difficult. I went to the driver and asked him to stop for a second as her insulin injection couldn’t be delayed. I went back to my place at the door. They started talking. I couldn’t help but overhear. My iPod was out of charge. She was asking him to sleep but the old timer wasn’t in any mood to listen. Their conversation shifted from the present to the past. They talked of the wars he had fought and how she had waited for him each day, alone and frightened. They talked of how they’d brought their children up in a changing country, the earthquakes they’d seen, the houses they’d lived in, the places they’d visited. They talked about the time when Gold Spot was the Zing Thing and Amitabh was the angry young man. They took me on a journey of a lifetime as I listened to incidents of times bygone. She slept after a point of time. He took the small pillow he had and kept it at the other side of her head. All that time, he had held her hand. I looked up at the night sky and smiled, again.
Love, Strike two.

Midnight . Salem Bus Stand. I looked around in despair for a Pepsi and got it at last. A bus to Coimbatore as well. I found a seat at last and gave some relief to my exhausted legs. The whole city slept as the bus drove on in the silent night. The conductor gave me my ticket and asked “College a??” I said “Aama” Yes. He finished his round of the bus and sat next to me. He asked me which college I studied in. He told me his daughter was in 12th and that he wanted to give her a college education. He took out a paper and jotted down everything I told him about colleges and the options his daughter had. When at last he was satisfied, he put his paper away, which I saw was already filled with lots of stuff. I saw he had circled VIT as an option. I told him it was very costly even though it was supposed to be very good. He didn’t say anything. He took out a photo from his brown conductor’s bag and gave it to me. It was of a much younger him, his wife and their baby daughter. His wife had died of cancer five years ago and he had promised her on her death bed that he would give their daughter the best education possible, however hard he had to work to pay for it. He got up to go and said “Ava sollita. Naan senji thane aaganum”. She asked me to do it. I have to.
Love, Strike three.

It was 7 in the morning. I had reached university.

47 responses

  1. abhishek nair

    yes da… love always wins…

    February 13, 2010 at 4:07 pm

  2. Sathappan

    Machi awesome da… I loved the way u published ur experiences. Keep it go !!

    February 13, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks Machi….. 🙂

      February 14, 2010 at 1:49 am

      • Aditi

        very well written….its xpressive!more importantly wht caught my attention was the discription of love in its different forms breaking all the barriers of age!keep up the gud work!:D

        July 25, 2010 at 5:57 am

      • Sairam Krishnan

        Thanks Aditi…. 🙂

        July 25, 2010 at 2:06 pm

  3. abhijeet

    indeed it must have been a great experience……
    happy valentines day dude…….

    February 13, 2010 at 8:29 pm

  4. Aparna Vijayan

    Its awesome buddy…….. Love should win always……….
    Happy valentines day…….

    February 14, 2010 at 8:41 am

  5. Sundar

    Felt like i had a journey along with u in the bus. Great work. Love Rocks and transforms nothing to everything. 😉

    February 14, 2010 at 10:07 am

  6. Priyanka

    excellent. beautiful and awe inspiring. very well written. touched a chord. thank you very much for writing this.good luck 🙂

    February 22, 2010 at 4:51 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank you very much Priyanka….

      February 22, 2010 at 1:58 pm

  7. Neerav Sejpal

    One of the best Blogs i’ve read !!!

    Extremely well written…..

    Must thank DG for sharing this with us…. 🙂

    Neerav Sejpal
    ASB – (2003 – 2005)

    February 22, 2010 at 10:28 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank you very much Neerav…

      February 22, 2010 at 2:00 pm

  8. Very inspiring, deeply moving, and highly pertinent. Keep writing. Looking forward to more.

    Best wishes, and deep regards,

    Paul Mathew

    February 22, 2010 at 11:20 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Wow… Sir…. Thank you so very much…. What a surprise to hear from you… Must thank DG Sir for this… And I will keep writing Sir…. No worries there….

      February 22, 2010 at 2:02 pm

  9. Anitha

    Hey..
    I get connected to the net so rarely that I eagerly wait for DG’s Monday mails!!

    And am i glad to to read this blog:-)I finished reading it and somehow my day seems brighter and lighter!

    Use our Comp labs to churn out more such blogs!!

    Anitha

    ASB(2004-06)

    February 22, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank you…. And I will, though probably not from our lab….!

      February 22, 2010 at 5:05 pm

  10. Landed here from DG ji’s email (like many others here I see!)

    If only we look around… isn’t it? It is there everywhere, touching each one of us, its little fragrance supporting many a breath!

    I loved the attention to detail!

    February 23, 2010 at 2:23 pm

  11. Hey,

    Wonderful post… 🙂 You know… my super- senior batch, senior batch at ASB, and my junior batch- all have great bloggers, and some friends from my batch too 🙂 It is rather very nice to see a super-junior blog this well too! 🙂 Kudos! Should you like to read some interesting and entertaining blogs, I have a handful… now, urs included! 🙂

    Keep writing and bringing more cheer to the world around you. It is after all filled with “love”ly surprises 🙂

    Cheers!
    Cauvery
    ASB 07-09

    February 24, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank you very much… And I’d love to read from your collection… Do send me some….

      February 25, 2010 at 11:58 am

  12. Beautiful!! Loved the post! Loved your style of writing too!

    Good work!

    Keep writing! Its a pleasure to read your posts! 🙂

    February 25, 2010 at 6:36 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank you Aishwarya…..

      February 25, 2010 at 11:58 am

  13. Kesavan

    Hi Sairam,

    This is surely the best blog I have read… absolutely amazing…

    Keep writing my young friend…

    God Bless…

    Thanks a lot to the one and only DG….

    Love,
    K7K
    (2004-06 batch)

    February 26, 2010 at 10:05 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank you so much Kesavan….. I surely will keep writing….

      February 26, 2010 at 1:41 pm

  14. varuna

    HI Sairan Krishnan

    A beautiful thought …. im dumbstruck reading this… 🙂 the smallest emotions observed and reproduced even wen u were exhausted is amazing … keep writing …. 🙂

    regards
    varuna

    February 28, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank you so much Varuna…. Means a lot…

      February 28, 2010 at 5:00 pm

  15. KP Nelson

    Hi Sai,

    A beautiful and interesting write up. I could see the actual scenes that happened in the bus while reading it …… as a movie, keep writing…

    March 9, 2010 at 10:59 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank you Nelson….

      March 9, 2010 at 2:16 pm

  16. SN

    Hi Sairam Krishnan

    I also landed here through Guptajee. I read and reread this post of yours. I cannot describe the storm of emotions that happened afterwards. One thing I realized is that it takes a good person with a great heart to recognize so much love around him. I bow to you for that. Its hard to come across such people.

    March 10, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank you so very much SN…. This is a compliment I can’t imagine I’m being handed…. I’m overjoyed that my writing is able to create such an impact…… Thank you again SN…

      March 12, 2010 at 10:07 am

  17. Srikumar

    I hav read many blogs and i blog too…but i haven’t came across such beautiful times….m glad that u had it and shared with us….keep up the spirit…I felt like i was with you on the bus………its very gud to c love all around….

    ASB (08-10)

    March 17, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank you so much Captain….

      March 17, 2010 at 5:08 pm

  18. Priya

    sai….its really so good and mind blowing way of bringin ur harder times of travel …..and u stand high in ur style of expression….happy and proud of u dear..

    April 1, 2010 at 5:29 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks Maths teacher…..

      April 1, 2010 at 5:50 am

  19. Puneet Chandani

    Hi Sai,

    This is the best blog i have ever read…Touched the inner roots of my heart…Love is all around us we just need to feel it…

    Keep writing..awesome!!!

    May 18, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank u so much Bro….

      May 20, 2010 at 4:49 am

  20. Kiran

    Heyyy Sai… Awesome work… I dont have words to express it… Do keep it up the good work and you should never stop this…

    Regards,
    Kiran
    ASB 2008-10

    May 18, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank u…. And I will… 🙂

      May 20, 2010 at 4:49 am

  21. husain

    awesome piece of work…really moving…

    wish everyone gets someone to love ’em like this…

    keep up d good work pal…

    May 31, 2010 at 11:51 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank u Hussain… 🙂

      June 1, 2010 at 5:28 am

  22. Brinda

    Sai!!

    Loved it! It was awesome…. Sai you are a natural.

    Brinda.

    June 18, 2010 at 8:41 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thanks Brinda…. :)….

      June 18, 2010 at 1:40 pm

  23. Cheeni

    Sai…
    I really dnt knw wat to say.. This is the first time i am reading your blogs, and i am never gng to miss any in future…

    July 29, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank u so much Cheeni… I’m smilin like that little yellow smiling ball u were showin in class yesterday…. 🙂

      July 30, 2010 at 11:55 am

  24. Susha

    Couldn’t help commenting. Came across ur blog while going thru others on the net..
    Touching one!

    August 4, 2010 at 2:40 am

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank u very much Susha… 🙂

      August 4, 2010 at 10:02 am

  25. Poornima

    Hello there..

    Got to your blog only now.. Thanks to Aishwarya.. Love the way you write, your attention to detail and the style of ur prose is amazing.. looking forward to reading more from you…

    Poornima Rajan
    ASB (2006-2008)

    September 2, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    • Sairam Krishnan

      Thank u so much Poornima…. :)…
      Thanks to Aishwarya too… 🙂
      Since I started writin, the support and encouragement that all my seniors gave me has been nothin short of amazin… A lot more posts comin, especially dedicated to you guys.. 🙂

      September 3, 2010 at 1:59 pm

Leave a Reply

